Which Texans In Congress Voted To Reject Election Results?

Jan 7, 2021
Originally published on January 7, 2021 12:35 pm

Seventeen Texas Republicans were among the eight U.S. senators and 139 representatives who voted to sustain objections to the electoral vote counts of at least one state this week.

Those totals weren't nearly enough to change the Electoral College count, which showed President-Elect Joe Biden with a clear victory.

The ceremony was interrupted for several hours when pro-Trump extremists violently stormed the Capitol and forced an emergency recess. Congress eventually reconvened that night and voted down the challenges.

Many of the Republicans condemned the Capitol attack, which left four people dead, but proceeded with their objections.

Here are the 17 Texans who voted to sustain one or both objections to the vote counts of Arizona and Pennsylvania. (Rep. Beth Van Duyne of Irving was the only House member to split her votes, saying yes to the Pennsylvania objection and no to the Arizona challenge.):

  • Sen. Ted Cruz

North Texas

  • Rep. Louie Gohmert - 1st Congressional District
  • Rep. Pat Fallon - 4th Congressional District
  • Rep. Lance Gooden - 5th Congressional District
  • Rep. Ron Wright - 6th Congressional District
  • Rep. Ronny Jackson - 13th Congressional District
  • Rep. Beth Van Duyne - 24th Congressional District (split votes)
  • Rep. Roger Williams - 25th Congressional District (which reaches to Austin)
  • Rep. Michael C. Burgess - 26th Congressional District

Houston Area

  • Rep. Randy Weber - 14th Congressional District
  • Rep. Troy Nehls - 22nd Congressional District
  • Rep. Michael Cloud - 27th Congressional District (which reaches almost to Austin)
  • Rep. Brian Babin - 36th Congressional District

Austin Area

  • Rep. Pete Sessions - 17th Congressional District
  • Rep. John R. Carter - 31st Congressional District

West Texas

  • Rep. August Pfluger - 11th Congressional District
  • Rep. Jodey Arrington - 19th Congressional District

Got a tip? Email Elizabeth Myong at Emyong@KERA.org. You can follow Elizabeth on Twitter @Elizabeth_Myong.

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gift today. Thank you.

Copyright 2021 KERA. To see more, visit KERA.