© 2021
In touch with the world ... at home on the High Plains
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
KJJP-FM 105.7 is currently operating at 15% of power, limiting its signal strength and range in the Amarillo-Canyon area. This due to complicated problems with its very old transmitter. Local engineers are continuing to work on the transmitter and are consulting with the manufacturer to diagnose and fix the problems. We apologize for this disruption and service as we work as quickly as possible to restore KJPFM to full power. In the mean time you can always stream either the HPPR Mix service or HPPR Connect service using the player above or the HPPR app.

Irreversible Entanglements: Tiny Desk Concert

"When did your heart break?" It's the question that Camae Ayewa asks to open this Tiny Desk, and one that's still rattling in my head. That soul puncture is an essential piece of Irreversible Entanglements, a free jazz band rooted in punk ethos.

Individually, these folks have made some of the most creative and challenging music of the past decade: Ayewa's ever-evolving project Moor Mother, trumpeter Aquiles Navarro and drummer Tcheser Holmes' telepathic duets, saxophonist Keir Neuringer's sonic monuments and bassist Luke Stewart's restless projects as improviser and instigator. Deep catalogs for deep listeners.

For this Tiny Desk, the band runs through six songs without breaks, starting with "Fireworks," a personal favorite, then leaning into music from Protect Your Light, which was released on Impulse Records (aka, the house that John and Alice Coltrane built). Joined here by guest vocalist Kyle Kidd, it's a joy to see Irreversible Entanglements work as a unit: hard-struck funk bass lines seamlessly shift to the horns, which constrict and expand the melody, and elastic drums create a fluid palette for Ayewa to spit, yawp and intone her poetry. To close, she gives us a crucial message to take into the darkness of this year or any: "We need your light / We can't stop shining / We must be the sun."


  • "Fireworks"
  • "Soundness"
  • "Free Love"
  • "Our Land Back"
  • "root <=> branch"
  • "Protect Your Light"


  • Camae Ayewa: vocals
  • Aquiles Navarro: trumpet, synth
  • Keir Neuringer: saxophone, synth 
  • Luke Stewart: upright bass 
  • Tcheser Holmes: drums
  • Kyle Kidd: backing vocals


  • Producer: Lars Gotrich
  • Director/Editor: Kara Frame
  • Audio Technical Director: Neil Tevault 
  • Series Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Videographers: Kara Frame, Joshua Bryant, Maia Stern
  • Audio Engineer: Josephine Nyounai
  • Production Assistant: Ashley Pointer
  • Photographer: Estefania Mitre
  • Tiny Desk Copy Editor: Hazel Cills
  • Executive Producer: Suraya Mohamed
  • Series Creators: Bob Boilen, Stephen Thompson
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins

Copyright 2024 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Listen to the Viking's Choice playlist, subscribe to the newsletter.