Oklahoma Liquor Laws To Change On Monday
In less than a week, the laws about how Oklahomans can sell liquor will change. Beginning Oct. 1, liquor and convenience stores will begin selling stronger beer and wine.
The change comes after Oklahoma voters approved State Question 792 during the Nov. 2016 election. Stores will now be able to sell beer consisting of 9 percent alcohol by volume, and wine containing up to 15 percent alcohol.
However, these stores must obtain new licenses to sell the higher-point alcohol. Oklahoma officials say the application process for the new licenses takes about 60 days.
Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement officials have admitted to being overwhelmed by the number of applications they’ve received. In addition, as News9 reports, anyone selling high-point beer and liquor will now have to be 18 years of age and have a liquor license.